Stoke Lacy derives its name from the Old English ‘stoc’ which means a ‘dependent settlement’ and Walter de Lacy who was awarded the parish after the Norman Conquest. The original church was demolished in 1862 and the present Church of St. Peter and St. Paul was built by F.R. Kempson in 1863. The style is Early English with a mixture of rock facings and smooth dressings. Inside the chancel is a reconstructed mid 12th century arch, a later 15th century screen, an impressive Victorian pulpit and many stained glass windows commemorating the Morgan and Kempson families.
The Church is beautifully sited, has a very friendly atmosphere and welcomes visitors from near and far. It not only has varied services for all ages but holds many musical events and other social gatherings.
Please help : Become a Friend
We are a caring, friendly crowd. Help us to maintain this unique building with a donation. A newsletter will be produced from time to time advising you of church news and any other activities.
The aims of the Friends are:
- To help with maintenance, care, development and improvement of the Church and its environment.
- To encourage the use of the Church building in a wide range of activities for the benefit of the community.
- To encourage well-wishers, visitors and families of those who have been christened, married or buried at Stoke Lacy Church to take a long term
interest in its welfare.
- To carry on any activities to enable the above aims to be achieved.
Patrons : Mr. Charles Morgan, Mrs Jillian Price
Contact: John Caiger,
The Old Rectory,
Stoke Lacy, Bromyard,
Tel. 01432 820272